Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Multi optic vs direct milled red dot optics

Multi optic vs direct milled red dot optics

Some on PF have followed my DP Pro issues. Short summary is I broke eight DP Pro units between September 2017 and May 2018. They were all mounted on Glock 34 MOS (Gen 4 and 5) and Walther Q5 (multi optic capable) pistols. In late April and May, as I ran out of Walther and Glock multi optic pistols, I started shooting a pair of CZ Shadow 1 pistols with direct milled (by L&M) DP Pro optics. Neither broke, but I was pretty paranoid while shooting them, because of my prior experience.

Mid-May, I had a Cajun’ized P09 direct milled by Primary Machine for the DP Pro, followed a few weeks later by a second slide, identical to the first. To date, neither has broken. At a match in Missoula today, I was discussing optics with another CO shooter. His experience was interesting. He got 20,000 rounds out of a DP Pro direct milled on a G4 34. On his G5 MOS pistols, he has broken three DP Pro optics at right about 3,000 rounds each. Two had intermittent dots, and the third DP Pro broke off the mount and actually hit him in the forehead. Not loosened and came off, but actually broke the screws. What I find especially interesting about that third one, is the multi optic mounting system seems to support the optic not nearly as well as when an exact pocket is cut (and possibly better yet with studs milled in like the Primary Machine installation).

Pretty small data set, but my theory is in a tough environment like a slide mounted optic, the multi optic mounting systems are subjecting the optic to more stress, and contributing to earlier failures than with a direct milled installation.
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

I broke an RMR and a DPP on a Unity Tactical ATOM G17 slide. I changed to a Suarez DPP-direct milled slide and I haven't had a problem yet.