Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie needs advice on a PCC 9mm

Newbie needs advice on a PCC 9mm

Had an opportunity to shoot a few at the range recently and I think I may have the bug. Just loads of fun. Shot the scorpion and the HK UMP 45. Been thinking about these for a while. Would likely be a fun range toy but since I have started to get into competition, may jump into that down the road. That said, I like the sbr around the 8" length, which probably wouldn't be great for competition. I'll just say it now, I just love the "cool" factor of the short barrel pistol. but open to suggestions.

In doing the internet search, there are tons of options out there, but again I am a newbie to this so don't assume I know a lot about these. In doing the usual internet thing, it seems like the scorpion certainly is popular but I have gravitated to the CMMG guard, MPX, and the wilson AR9. Yeah I know, pretty broad smf kind of expensive. I am not opposed to spending the money if it's worth it. I do like glock compatibility but not a must. Clearly spending the money I would want reliability first and foremost. One of the reasons the Wilson AR9 is in the mix, so it seems by reviews. I figure high quality I can grow into with experience. If this is nutty, say so. Is there one PCC I could grow into, or should I start at the lower end and upgrade as I become experienced in these. The smart move financially would probably be the way to go but you know what they say about a fool and his money.

So what would be a good choice, and why? The purpose would be fun, potentially have something to compete with, (mainly for the fun of it as well) open to any suggestions to get started on this route. Again, money isn't the main driver if it's worth the cash. thx for taking the time to comment.

If you don’t have a specific preference for exact components, want to shoot USPSA PCC, and have about $1,500, either: