Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: USMC Off-Duty Firearms Safety Lessons Learned 2018

USMC Off-Duty Firearms Safety Lessons Learned 2018

This is copied from the Naval Safety Center of Lessons Learned and just showed up in my in box this morning.... Some face palm inducing moments indeed...

“Don’t try this at home, I’m a trained professional!”

(USMC Edition)

Working with firearms is inherently hazardous, and live fire exercises add even greater risks. Even so, during the past 30 months, our Marines have inadvertently shot themselves twice as often OFF-duty as compared to on-duty! -- 31 incidents of negligent firearm discharges in off-duty mishaps, resulting in 542 lost workdays and 1 fatality. Seriously, Bro! (and Sis)! Somehow our discipline on the range and on-duty isn’t carrying home.
    Here is a random sampling of some of the most recent events:

A Marine negligently discharged his personal firearm into his left thigh while in his parked POV. The message adds, “he was waiting in the store parking lot while his wife shopped.”

A Marine was excused from work early to meet with a real estate agent. While waiting for the meeting, the report states he “experienced an accidental discharge while handling his 9mm pistol”. The bullet lodged in his leg. He then drove himself to the ER.
    While firing his personal weapons alone off-base, a Marine negligently discharged his 9mm pistol into his left thigh while attempting to clear a stoppage. The report goes on to say that he used his belt as a tourniquet and drove to his residence ON-base where his wife and neighbor then took him to the hospital. -- You have to wonder how hard he had to grit his teeth to smile and greet the gate guard on the way to his house.