Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deciding between two .38 Special Revolvers

Deciding between two .38 Special Revolvers

Hello, I am fairly new to firearms. I have been researching different carry options as well as a gun for camping and home defense. I prefer steel guns, I do not wish to carry aluminum or polymer. I also prefer revolver for the simplicity and safety of DA. I do however wish to have a exposed hammer for the option of SA.

I plan to only shoot .38 Special or .38 +P, I would rather not shoot .357 so I decided to focus on .38 +P rated revolvers not .357/.38. I know that may seem silly, why not get a pistol that can shoot both? I decided since I would be only shooting .38s, I would prefer the cartridges to optimally fit the chambers.

So I have narrowed it down to these two pistols. Do you have an opinion on which would be more reliable, nicer trigger, durability, etc? Why would you chose one over the other? Would you possibly choose a different option that I didn't mention? One cost more than the other, I think I may like the aesthetics of the S&W a little more not but enough to disregard the Ruger. Also I am shopping for new guns since I don't have the expertise to weed out damage on old ones.

Manufacturer Smith & Wesson
    SKU GAG_SW162427FC
    Condition New in Box
    Action Type Revolver
    Caliber .38
    UPC 022188624274
    Model 60
    Manufacturer Part Number 162427
    Barrel Length 2.125"
    Finish Per Color Stainless
    Capacity 5Rd
    Firing Casing Fired Case
    Frame Per Material Steel

Ruger 5737 SP101 KSP-821X 5RD 38SP +P 2.25"
    Finish Stainless
    Type Revolver
    Action Single/Double
    Caliber 38 Special
    Barrel Length 2.25"
    Capacity 5
    Safety Transfer Bar
    Grips Black
    Sights Fixed
    Weight 26 oz

Site Supporter
    Have you physically handled either/both of them? I would do that, and pick whichever seems to feel better and not give it another thought. Both are good guns.