Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What Drill To Test New Handgun?

What Drill To Test New Handgun?

I recently acquired a CZ P10C. Added the MBI trigger and a fiber optic front sight.
    Checked the sight alignment at 25 yards. I need a very slight 6PM hold, but not enough to matter when shooting fast and close.

I have been shooting the Sig P320 Compact for a few months now. It has tritium white sights, and is verified accurate at 25 yards.

I wanted to figure out which gun is better for me so I ran this drill:
    - IDPA target at 7 yards, 5 rounds as fast as I can get sights on target, Repeated 6 times.

For the CZ P10 I pulled about 7 shots outside the down zero, average time was 2.1s.
    For the Sig 320 C I was only 3 shots outside the down zero, average time was 1.85s.

Also, it was harder to drive the sights on the CZ to take the shot. And, thus I had longer splits with the CZ.

Is there another drill I should try to better assess my performance with these two guns?

Cody
    That a well-regulated militia, composed of the body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper, natural, and safe defense of a free state;

What are your normal range trip drills? What is your cold drill?
    Think for yourself. Question authority.

FAST and Dot Torture immediately come to mind, also maybe something like Nuevo El Pres (USPSA classifier CM 99-22) as another thing to push you on accuracy and speed?

Hammertime
    I don’t think such a drill exists that can give us the answer as to which gun is best for us. I wish it did.

Generally we are going to shoot the gun we have most recently spent the most time with best.

Fact is most modern handgun designs are refined enough that the differences for any one experienced shooter between designs should be less than low single digit percentages.

Quote Originally Posted by Enel View Post