Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: legit advice on modifications?

legit advice on modifications?

Just completed an 8-hour state-mandated CCH class yesterday.

Not sure what to make of this exchange (when I explained my plans to modify the PX4 from F to G):

Instructor: Oh, I wouldn't do that. I've been an expert witness in multiple cases. If you are involved in a shooting, and it's determined that you did anything to make your gun 'less safe,' that will be bad.
    Me: What if the modifications result in a configuration that's already offered by the manufacturer?
    Instructor: Well, maybe if you had a gunsmith do it...

I feel like I've seen @Mas write about things like this, but the specific F->G mod in Berettas seems to be in a different boat.

I wonder, for instance, if it would be more "legally defensible" to 1) use the G stealth levers conversion kit vs. 2) just removing the spring and detent from the stock levers? Even though they accomplish the same thing, the latter is REMOVING a factory part and the former is INSTALLING a factory part (though, granted, one with fewer parts).

What say you, P-F wise ones?
    Last edited by Earlymonk; 04-22-2018 at 07:50 AM.

If the bad guy deserves to be shot, I really don't see how a gun modification matters.

An instructor should always give instruction that works well for the masses. They have no idea of your level of experience or training when it comes to shooting or working on a firearm.
    -Seconds Count. Misses Don't-

Site Supporter
    A well known defensive trainer (Ernest Langdon) modifies his guns as such. You're probably good.

The consensus seems to be that if you have an easily articulated reason for modifying your gun, you're probably alright.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Can you articulate why you did "X" and preferable only use quality stuff. The political leanings of your most frequented area can also be a factor