Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help Picking Out First Pistol

Help Picking Out First Pistol

Trying this again, didn't post for some reason.

I'm looking to buy my first pistol and I've done alot of research but alot of these guns have same features and that makes it hard to choose one. The only thing I know for sure is I DO NOT WANT A GLOCK. I know they are reliable guns but everyone and their mother has one and I just want something different.

Here is a list of the guns I'm interested in and I'm hoping for input from owners.

CANIK TPSF
    BERETTA APX
    FN FNX-9
    FN FNS-9
    FN 509
    STEYR L9A1
    STEYR M9A1
    SIG SP2022

What are your thoughts?

Of what you posted, my choice would be the APX. Otherwise, I'd look at the M&P 2.0 if I were you.
    #RESIST

I would suggest to add to your list:

HK VP9
    Walther PPQ
    S&W MP 2.0

Site Supporter
    I wrote this for a lawyer in my office years ago, I still stand by it. He was a complete novice so my post below reflect that a bit.

If it was me, and knowing everything I know now having first started shooting in 1991, I would :

1.Buy a S & W 9mm M&P or a Glock 9mm (Model 19 or 17) and six magazines per gun. The M&P can be had with a frame mounted safety lever. The Glock has a longer track record and is the number one pistol in the world for Mil/LEO/GOVT use. It is also a bit easier to get holsters and accessories for a Glock. It really is a bit of Ford v. Chevy/Nike v. Adidas
    2. Buy a Blade Tech Kydex Injection Molded OWB (outside the waistband) holster/mag pouch set as my unconcealed range/training holster set. These holsters are made of a stiff plastic like material that make wearing, drawing and re-holstering much easier and safer. A holster is to a pistol what a sling is to a hunting rifle carried in the field.
    3. Make sure the gun had night sights. This type of sight glows in the dark without having to be recharged by light v. a watch dial.