Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dud factory ammo

Dud factory ammo

The last two range sessions have each experienced a dud round. I’ve been shooting since 1988 and other than one previous event a few years ago, I’ve never experienced a dud. Last Tuesday, I experienced a dud round of 115gr WWB when shooting my P320 Compact. It was confirmed a true dud when the same round wouldn’t fire through my Walther PPS.

Now today, when shooting 124gr Fiocchi .357 SIG through my P229, low and behold, another dud round. Yes, I know that it isn’t the greatest ammo, but it is factory ammunition. I just find this ironic.

I think you've been incredibly lucky that in thirty years that's all you've had.
    "Gunfighting is a thinking man's game. So we might want to bring thinking back into it."-MDFA

I'd say you're well overdue for a few then. Seriously depending on how often you shoot it's merely statistics that dictate how often you'll see a dud.

ETA: just looking at my notes, out of nearly 24,000 shot in 9 years I've logged 6 duds (center fire ammo only. .22lr's are a whole other league of problematic depending on the brand.)
    That's a 0.025% failure rate. Given the mass production of ammo, that's pretty fucking impressive.
    Last edited by hufnagel; 03-27-2018 at 12:41 PM.
    Rules to live by: 1. Eat meat, 2. Shoot guns, 3. Fire, 4. Gasoline, 5. Make juniors
    TDA: Learn it. Live it. Love it.... Read these: People Management Triggers 1, 2, 3
    If anyone sees a broken image of mine, please PM me.

I had a Federal .45acp round with a shallow primer pocket years ago, and a Wolf 7.62x39 the bullet set back and didn't chamber.

That's about it.

Considering the millions of factory rounds produced every year it's amazing it doesn't happen more often. I can't think of any other consumer product with a similar track record.

-------------------------------------------
    I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.