Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Remington Woodmaster 742

Remington Woodmaster 742

I have a Remington Woodmaster 742 semi-auto in 30-06 that I bought in 1972. It's never been fired. A friend is trying to get me interested in rifle shooting. Up till now I've only shot handguns.

Since I own the gun, it seems to be an OK way to get some experience with 100 yard targets from a bench and have fun in the process. I'm looking for input. Should I try to sell the gun and get a more modern rifle, in a smaller caliber? They must have made a million of these things back in the day so it's probably not worth much. Would the fact that it's never been fired make it more desirable to someone?
    Last edited by Tom Duffy; 03-24-2018 at 08:04 PM.

They're not that desirable imo. I do like them though. They are not known for their reliability or accuracy but it might be a good one.
    They're good hunting guns.

They're pretty common, not really any collector value. I doubt you'll devalue it much by shooting it if you take care of it and keep it nice.

Site Supporter
    If you have no sentimental attachment, I would sell it. Using it off a bench at 100 yards is likely to produce disappointing groups by today's standards. A Tika/Howa/Savage bolt is going to shoot groups 1/3 to 1/5 the size. Maybe better, if your sample turns out to be MOPP (minute of pie plate).

Is there a Remington specific board where you could ask the same question? Is it in perfect condition, or better yet, new in box (NIB)? 46 years old and never fired might be worth something to the right person. Chances are, the right person isn't on Pistol-Forum.