Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Advice for the Smaller-Handed: Platform change to TDA, LEM, or stick with Strikers?

Advice for the Smaller-Handed: Platform change to TDA, LEM, or stick with Strikers?

I am looking for data points/opinions about possibly making a platform change. The purposes are for carry, HD, and getting enough range/training time to keep improving. I like shooting and carry as a private citizen, with no military or LE experience/training. I live a low-threat lifestyle (and pray it stays that way), but would like to be prepared if things get unintentionally exciting.

I have been carrying a Glock 19 Gen4 for over 18 months, and have just over 5,500 rounds through it. I run the gun well enough, and feel like it is about the biggest gun I can comfortably carry, but have some challenges due to having smaller hands (think size Small in Mechanix gloves). When gripping the pistol, I find I rotate it slightly to the right (right-handed) to get what feels like a good purchase on it. I also find I push shots to the left at times, as getting enough finger on the trigger is a challenge as well. When performing magazine changes, I also break my grip more than I think is ideal to rotate the gun back slightly left to reach the button, then back slightly right to reacquire my shooting grip.

The end result is that with enough dry fire and actual shooting, I am reasonably proficient and confident with the G19. It just takes more concentration and range time to be as consistent as I like. However, I have found I run S&W M&P pistols a bit better with the small backstrap installed. Same thing for the H&K P2000 and P30 (with small inserts all the way around).

This has led me to contemplate making a change, especially as it relates to carry. Another factor is that I do not currently carry AIWB, but am thinking about going that direction as an option when I can (and as soon as a few more pounds come off my middle-aged frame).