Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Netflix Police Documentary: "Flint Town"

Netflix Police Documentary: "Flint Town"

Great documentary.

Granted, I wasn't a LEO when I lived/worked in a decayed industrial city (I was an EMT, same sandbox, different job). Still, watching this documentary brought back a lot of memories and emotions, especially given the married couple working the same department, which is how my wife and I met as well. She even switched trucks to work my last shift with me before I started my current job. The dynamics of a corrupt city government, underfunded public safety services, community that hates you no matter what you do, and making shit pay. You kind of feel like you get sucked into a vortex at some point. When I started my current job, our class coordinator told us to "remember the mill" from which we came, and this documentary really did that.

As for my current job, I have a very different perspective than these guys. My only exposure to neighborhoods like these are field interviews or warrant service, and always with the right equipment and ample amount of manpower. We don't live in it all shift long, day-in/day-out like these guys (or some of you here).

Anyway, thought I'd mention the documentary to everyone here.
    "Are you ready? Okay. Let's roll."- Last words of Todd Beamer

Smoke Bomb / Ninja Vanish Chance's Avatar
    Excellent documentary. SO has been watching this, and I have glanced at it wandering through the living room. I am in the process of sitting down and watching it start-to-finish.

Why those folks continue to show up for work is lost on me some time. The world is a better place for them.
    "Sapiens dicit: 'Ignoscere divinum est, sed noli pretium plenum pro pizza sero allata solvere.'" - Michelangelo

Quote Originally Posted by Chance View Post
    Why those folks continue to show up for work is lost on me some time. The world is a better place for them.