Thread: Weapons training HS teachers/staff

Weapons training HS teachers/staff

This idea seems to be gaining steam in FL and other places. This got me thinking; what would a good training program for a armed teacher/staff look like? IMO this position would have some necessary differences from other armed protection duties. There would similarities of course but certainly some unique qualities.

One such quality would be, assuming only a scant few would be armed, the ability to run a significant distance and then make an accurate shot/s. Many schools occupy a large area so distances that would have to be covered could be up to and including 250 meters.

BTW I am a HS coach/educator with more than a passing interest in self defense/shooting sports.

For starters, I think that MAG40+Law of Self Defense+Combative Pistol - Rangemaster would be a pretty good grounding.

Probably impractical to set up those specific classes, although Andrew Branca (@Law of Self Defense) does have online classes available, and his classes are tailored to the laws of the state.
    @Mas and @Tom Givens both offer instructor certification training.

Consider adding a trauma medical course.

We are getting enough of these threads that it might be worthwhile consolidating them, or setting aside sub-forum for them.

One common thread (heh) I see in them is a desire to ensure high standards of ability. I am concerned that the standards get set so high that no one qualifies. (This is my concern with training and qualification standards for general carry, as well.)