Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gabe White, Pistol Shooting Solutions, Florida, February

Site Supporter

Gabe White, Pistol Shooting Solutions, Florida, February

Course Review, Gabe White, Pistol Shooting Solutions

Although I’ve been teaching for over 40 years, I try to take 1-2 courses each year myself from vetted instructors outside my own organization. I feel this is critical to keep up with new ideas and trends and prevent stagnation.

This past weekend I was extremely fortunate to get to attend Gabe White’s “Pistol Shooting Solutions” course conducted in Lakeland, FL. A couple of my associates had attended this course elsewhere and raved about it. I corresponded a bit with Gabe, then enrolled Lynn and me as paying students. We were joined by Rangemaster staff instructor John Hearne, plus there were several other people we knew in our class. There were 14 students, including 4 ladies, from as far away as New York, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and Mississippi, plus several Florida residents. Overall skill level was fairly high and there were no issues. “That Guy” was conspicuously absent.

Gabe identifies the major class focus as “Contextual shooting agility”. This is defined as “the development of core shooting skills in conjunction with spatial management- movement, barriers, bystanders, maneuver- in an attempt to allow the defensive handgun practitioner to credibly attempt the best-practice answer they can discern, when shooting is an appropriate solution.”