Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gripping harder with support hand, dealing with the side effects

Gripping harder with support hand, dealing with the side effects

So I started practicing with gripping much harder with my support hand for the past few weeks or so and have had 2 live fire sessions (100 rounds each) doing the same thing. It’s REALLY helped with keeping my shots from walking left, but I’m now experiencing soreness and fatigue 3 of my 5 fingers on that hand. I’m not sure if I’m able to still grip as hard as when I wasn’t discomforted, but I do seem to be experiencing some consistent discomfort in those fingers/hand even when I’m not doing anything. I do try to get some regular/daily dry practice in. Usually 10-20 minutes per session. Sometimes two sessions a day.

Is this just soreness from building strength in that hand or is it possible that I’m over doing it? Possible remedies to combat this? Should I take a break for a few days to see if it’s still there?

Sent from mah smertfone using tapathingy

Funny you bring this up. I have been overdoing my dry fire practice of late with a Blackhawk demonstrator and Ring's blue gun in addition to my weight training which puts a lot of stress on grip. I noticed in the last few days I've really aggravated the "trigger finger" I have an issue with on the middle finger of my strong hand.

I'm wondering if I'll be able to do my deadlifts later this morning, not to mention my specific grip work at the end of my training session.

To your point, I think it could be a bit of the muscles / tendons / ligaments needing to adjust to the new level of stress and a bit of overuse.

Try resting and then backing it off a bit...and maybe some NSAIDs.

(If only I were good at taking my own advice.)
    Last edited by blues; 01-22-2018 at 11:23 AM. Reason: add link
    There's nothing civil about this war.

NSAIDs?