Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: School me on Ruger single action’s...

School me on Ruger single action’s...

Hi friends,

So I’m a pretty much a newb when it comes to revolvers. I’ve got a few and shoot them and enjoy them for what they are. I’ve only owned or shot S&W double action revolvers.

I’d like to add another 41 mag to the safe. My dream would be to take a 8” 57 and have the barrel cut to 5-5” a la Lost Rivers 44mag. I already have a 4” 57.

I also really want a cowboy gun. Not for SASS or anything, just for enjoyment and maybe woods duty)

It seems like ruger is pretty much the go to for a solid single action gun. Figured I’d ask the forum for some info, things to watch out for, etc.

What’s the difference between Blackhawk, new model Blackhawk, vaquero etc? Any issues or recommendations for one vs the other? I’ve seen/read you can change the grip/handle for different shaped ones?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "I'm a tactical operator and Instructor and also retired military."

-read on another forum

Revolvers Revolvers 1911s Stephanie B's Avatar
    Do you want fixed sights or adjustable sights?
    If we have to march off into the next world, let us walk there on the bodies of our enemies.

The "New Model" as applies to Blackhawks is the transfer bar safety system introduced in 1974 I believe, earlier guns are usually referred to as "3 screw" now.

All Ruger single action cartridge revolvers made since 1974 are "New Model".

To confuse the issue, Ruger made a new version of their old Vaquero in a slightly smaller frame, closer to the size of the Colt for the Cowboy Action market. They call it the "New Vaquero". Brilliant.