Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on a Career in CID

Thoughts on a Career in CID

I am currently an Infantry officer on active duty in the Army and I am considering either going to CID as a warrant officer or getting out and pursuing a career in law enforcement. Is CID a good place to work in law enforcement or am I better off else where? If one day I do get out and try to get a job in federal law enforcement do most of those agencies respect CID and would that background help me? I appreciate any information or advice people can offer. I have had trouble finding much information about CID. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am in a large military town and work with CID regularly.
    Everyone I know who worked CID (not TDY from the MPs) have landed some really good fed jobs and/or some pretty high level corporate security jobs.

My experience mirrors KPD’s with the exception I’m not in a military town. I have worked several cases with Army CID and know several Fed’s who were former Army CID. My current boss (State Agency) is a retired CW4 CID Officer.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

That’s good to hear, thanks. Is the training cid provides good comparatively? Also the other thing I’ve wondered is if they get good experience through the cases they work or if there is just less crime happening involving soldiers

John,

My Fiancée was an Intel Analyst at CID HQ for a number of years, thought it’s been awhile. She moved To Treasury FinCEN and now with another fed agency. She really misses the the more Army family attitude and closeness that CID had while she was there. There are a number of former CID agents working in the Fed LE agency she currently works for, so it appears there is good portability with fed LE agencies.

If you are interested in speaking with her, shoot me a PM with contact info. I’m sure she will be willing to share her experiences there. While it’s dated info, it might be helpful background.

Stay safe!