Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help putting a trauma bag together?

Question Help putting a trauma bag together?

I'm trying to get a couple of trauma kits put together and am looking for some input. Looked over previous threads and got some ideas, but I know I tend to go overboard what-iffing when it comes to packing things so I need some help keeping things rational and not bank-breaking.

As background, I was a volunteer firefighter for four years; never got to take EMT classes and never worked a major trauma case, but we did basic trauma training, I have done CPR in the field, and back in the day I could board and collar like nobody's business
    There is a local outfit that offers a trauma training class and I'll be trying to attend their next series of classes whenever that is.

The idea would be to have one stashed in the car (which I could attach to the range bag as required) and one at home. Ideally I'd like something I could carry every day but I'm not quite sure what to put in that, nor how big of something I could make use of that I'd actually be able (and remember) to carry every day.

We live within line-of-sight to a fire station, but sometimes we drive through more rural areas. We also have a toddler to worry about so I need supplies that will work for him, too.

For each of the big kits, I'm thinking this:
    Tourniquet (2)
    Israeli bandage (2)
    Emergency blanket (2)
    CPR mask
    Chest seal 2-pack (2)
    Hemostatic gauze (2)
    Regular gauze packs (2)
    Tape (1 roll)
    Pocket BVM (1)
    Nitrile gloves (2-3 pair)
    Shears (1)
    Alcohol swabs
    Baby aspirin

"Booboo kit" for the car pack; we have this stuff at home

All criticism welcome
    "Political tags - such as royalist, communist, democrat, populist, fascist, liberal, conservative, and so forth - are never basic criteria. The human race divides politically into those who want people to be controlled and those who have no such desire." - R. A. Heinlein