Thread: Value of 94 built in 1954

Value of 94 built in 1954

Lgs has a winchester 94 in 30/30. It was built in 54. Rifle is in excellent condition. Has a side mounted scope. Glass is shitty bushnell. But the rifle looks like it has seen little action. I am wondering what the value of one in exc. condition should be. Or what you guys would pay. It is carbine mode.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've got a 55. It was appraised at my LGS for $500. Condition was considered "good". My LGS told me the only way he ever considers something in excellent condition is if its in original box and never been fired FWIW. I have no idea if thats the std used by every one.

I'm no Winchester expert, but the gun had some intrinsic value as a "Pre-64" regardless of its condition. Regrettably, it lost most of that intrinsic value if extra holes were drilled into the receiver to accommodate that scope mount.

Irrespective of any extra holes, if I was simply interested in a "shooter grade" Mod 94, I'd snap it up in a heartbeat ..... just don't pay too much more than the going rate for a used Post-64 carbine in similar condition is selling for in your neck of the woods. Around here, that would be between $375 and $500.
    Last edited by 41magfan; 10-14-2017 at 10:23 AM.
    The path of least resistance will seldom get you where you need to be.

Quote Originally Posted by 41magfan View Post
    I'm no Winchester expert, but the gun had some intrinsic value as a "Pre-64" regardless of its condition. Regrettably, it lost most of that intrinsic value if extra holes were drilled into the receiver to accommodate that scope mount.

Irrespective of any extra holes, if I was simply interested in a "shooter grade" Mod 94, I'd snap it up in a heartbeat ..... just don't pay too much more than the going rate for a used Post-64 carbine in similar condition is selling for in your neck of the woods. Around here, that would be between $375 and $500.