Thread: Asking for tips on Transitions please.

Asking for tips on Transitions please.

First off, I am a raw novice that has been working long time on grip and trigger manipulation and now I'm trying to speed up some. I don't compete except with myself and the timer I guess. I'm doing this work because it's fun and I want to be better than I am. Currently I am working on transitioning. Body to head (failure drill) and target to target (Bill drill).

I am tracking my dot (RMR) if I concentrate hard on it and can keep it in the confines of the window if I work on doing that. Where I am having the most trouble is my herky-jerky movement when transitioning. I can't seem to mitigate it.

I appreciate any help.
    David
    Last edited by SC_Dave; 10-05-2017 at 09:21 AM.

By dot you mean an RMR on a pistol or an RDS on a rifle?

Either way it's the same.

If you are shooting for a body->head or head->body you know where the target is, in terms of distance/location from your current target (especially if it is on the same target) this just requires you go through a process of understanding natural point of aim and how to transition from point on one target to another point on the same target. Especially at 5-7 yards, you could almost back plate shoot or point shoot. If you are absolutely set on using your sights then follow the same protocol for target transitions.

sight focus (front sight for irons, target focus for dots)
    fire the weapon
    second sight picture (confirmation of effective fire/scan for further threats)
    look at your next target/focus on the exact location you want to impact
    transition your weapon to the area of that target
    find your sight then focus (front sight or stay on target for dot)
    fire your weapon

repeat as needed