Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shotgun Slug Precision

Shotgun Slug Precision

I'm pretty new to firing shotgun slugs. I've always been more of a rifle guy.

What are reasonable precision expectations/standards for slugs out of a smooth-bore shotgun with:

Brenneke slugs?
    Foster style slugs?
    Federal TruBall Deep Penetrator slugs?

At what distances do they no longer provide acceptable precision?

Thanks.
    Last edited by warpedcamshaft; 09-12-2017 at 09:49 AM.

What's your definition of acceptable precision?

Sent from my Infernal Contraption using Tapatalk
    IDPA SSP classification: Sharpshooter
    F.A.S.T. classification: Intermediate

We found in Darryl Bolke's class that it varies widely with what sights you have on the gun. I would be hard pressed to make reliable defensive shots with my bead sighted 870 beyond 15 yards. A red dot made 25+ yards very accessible to everyone in the class who tried it.
    David S.

Quote Originally Posted by Tony1911 View Post
    What's your definition of acceptable precision?

Sent from my Infernal Contraption using Tapatalk
    Reliable hits in the -0 Zone of an IDPA target or A zone of an IPSC.

The few loads I've tested so far... 50 yards was easy with ghost rings sights. Pushing the distance past that didn't go well for me.
    Last edited by warpedcamshaft; 09-12-2017 at 10:06 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by David S. View Post
    We found in Darryl Bolke's class that it varies widely with what sights you have on the gun. I would be hard pressed to make reliable defensive shots with my bead sighted 870 beyond 15 yards. A red dot made 25+ yards very accessible to everyone in the class who tried it.
    This right here. Shotgun sighting systems, not slug accuracy, is often the limiting factor. An Aimpoint micro changes that.

Quote Originally Posted by warpedcamshaft View Post
    Reliable hits in the -0 Zone of an IDPA target or A zone of an IPSC.