Page 1 of 190 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Mr_White's Training Journal: Mind Driving the Vision, Vision Driving the Gun

Mr_White's Training Journal: Mind Driving the Vision, Vision Driving the Gun

I've been making sure to log my practice sessions since January 1st, 2012, and will be getting them posted here over the next few days probably.

2012 goals so far:

• Return to the pure joy of shooting, and not be so invested in shooting well to feel that joy
    • Further ingrain disciplined shooting according to my vision – hence the journal title
    • Start shooting USPSA Limited with my concealed carry gear – we’ll see how long I hold out before being sucked into the game…or not - need to avoid expectations on this one
    • Reduce or acclimate to my stress reaction to shooting in front of people I care about (my peeps)
    • Break 80 seconds with my concealed carry gear on the IDPA Classifier, and in front of my peeps
    • Get off my ass and go get it kicked in ECQC
    • Exercise in order to be less embarrassed in addition to ass-kicked at ECQC, and to improve the raw physical ability I have to better shoot pistols
    • Win a Matchmeister gun at GSSF – this one is going to be tough, isn’t it Chuck?

I'm not a good goal-setter so hopefully these won't just fall by the wayside. But I guess that's up to me, isn't it?

Overall, my belief is that my physical skills are pretty decent. I need to continue rationing draw practice to keep my elbow from getting aggravated, and to maintain sanity and balance in training. Still need to work trigger control, especially SHO and WHO. Reloads need to be much more consistently clean. Way too many errors there currently.

The big thing I need is to truly habituate shooting the speed I can see. It’s all sights and trigger, applied across many slightly differing circumstances.

#USPSA
    Last edited by LittleLebowski; 04-12-2017 at 01:02 PM. Reason: updated title to reflect new username