Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it me, the press, or the brass? What is going wrong?

Is it me, the press, or the brass? What is going wrong?

I've been reloading for several years now, have had this problem only with 9mm, and have struggled to figure out the cause. About 3-4 rounds out of every 100 loaded won't pass the plunk test in a case gage. I'm loading on a Dillon 550b with Dillon carbide dies. The problem area seems to be about 2/3-3/4 of the way up the case where the bullet is seated inside of it that measures about .382-383 inches. The other 97% of rounds that pass the plunk test measure .377-.378" in that same spot. I use a mix of range brass, but the vast majority of my brass is once fired from quality Speer ammo. This problem seems to occur on all different types of brass and not one specific kind. I am using 145gr bayou bullets, seated to an OAL of 1.130". I also load .40 and .45 and rarely have a single round not case gage with either. Any thoughts on what I can try to remedy this?
    Last edited by Gio; 08-02-2017 at 12:04 PM.

Unless they vary in FPS or fail to chamber I'd just shoot em.

The bullets all the same diameter? All seating at the same OAL?
    Semper Gumby, Always Flexible

I used to have that issue as well. Now I use a Lee FCD in the final station on my press.
    “There is no growth in the comfort zone.”--Jocko Willink
    "You can never have too many knives." --Joe Ambercrombie

Quote Originally Posted by Peally View Post
    Unless they vary in FPS or fail to chamber I'd just shoot em.

The bullets all the same diameter? All seating at the same OAL?
    Most will seat in a glock barrel but stick and won't spin freely. I segregate these rounds and shoot them separately during a live fire session, usually for slow fire accuracy like a dot torture drill to avoid inducing a malfunction.

It sounds like the bullets may be seating crooked. Is the bulge all the way around the case or just out one side?