Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Input wanted- training a young comp shooter

Input wanted- training a young comp shooter

Long time lurker, first time poster.

My 11 year old son has started shooting USPSA, he will shoot his 3rd ever match this weekend. He has very good fundamentals and gun handling. He is deliberate moving through a stage. He is also very accurate. In his last match he had the fourth most A's and 0 M's.
    He could definitely move faster between positions but I'd rather him grow into that as he becomes more comfortable moving with a gun.

Something that I think he needs to work on is recoil management. We've been working on grip and stance as well as shooting Bill Drills. I'm just not sure how much he is capable of due to his size. He is 4'9" & 80 pounds.

We're having a blast so far.

Just wondering if anyone has been through anything similar or has any words of wisdom.

My background is in defensive training, no competition experience other than watching it on TV.

Thanks in advance.

FWIW he may just not be built enough to grip hard enough just yet. I would say give it time, on top of growing up he'll naturally get better the more he shoots too if he's remembering to just grip as hard as he comfortably can
    Semper Gumby, Always Flexible

I did some competitive shooting with my boys. At his age, I would just let him have fun as long as he is safe.

I remember my wife relaying a story of a 30ish year old guy who was happy that he beat my 14 year old son at a stage. Typically it was the other way around so we all got a laugh out of it.
    Last edited by SecondsCount; 07-13-2017 at 09:38 PM.
    -Seconds Count. Misses Don't-

What Peally said. I would also have him start learning how to visualize and execute a plan. Don't worry about him having a good plan or anything, just that he visualized it. That will also help him stay safe when the stage requires uprange movement or starts facing uprange, etc.

Thanks for the advice so far.