Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to understand dialing long range scope - any videos?

Site Supporter

Trying to understand dialing long range scope - any videos?

I am trying to learn more about dialing long range scopes - in my case Vortex Viper PST 6-24 MRAD Gen 1. Anyone have a favorite link to a YouTube video, article, etc. I have looked at my search engine skills seem to be lacking

Can you elaborate a little more on the issue? It would help in directing you.

Site Supporter
    I am new to long range shooting - I want to better understand how to use the elevation and windage exposed target turrets to "dial" for distance shooting versus using holdover or using the reticle.

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by ranger View Post
    I am new to long range shooting - I want to better understand how to use the elevation and windage exposed target turrets to "dial" for distance shooting versus using holdover or using the reticle.
    Welcome to the addiction of long range shooting! The general rule is to dial elevation and hold windage. Start by getting your rifle zeroed. 100 yards is the most common distance used to zero. If you have a chrono, get solid muzzle velocity readings for your rifle and load. Even better, do this at different temperatures. Input your data into a ballistic app - e.g. Shooter, Applied Ballistics, Strelok, etc. Use the app to determine elevation at various distances. Dial in the appropriate number of MILS or MOA on the elevation turret. Press trigger to the rear. Repeat as necessary to confirm hits at various distances. Tweek inputs into ballistic app as needed. Enjoy.

Site Supporter
    Demo I have used to try and learn. Honestly, would be worth it to me to buy the full version if I actually got into long range shooting.

http://www.shooterready.com/lrsdemo.html

Wyoming Shooter has most of the basis covered.

MRAD and MOA are angular measurements in degrees.