Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cultural question - how to avoid being That Guy

Site Supporter Notorious E.O.C.'s Avatar

Cultural question - how to avoid being That Guy

When I'm not wasting time on the interwebs, I work in emergency management. I just changed jobs to take a planning/training/exercise position in an EM office that's subordinate to a small police department. Previously, this was a lieutenant's position, but when the last guy left, the administration reclassified it to civilian. Their thinking was that this position's duties don't require a badge and a gun, so the change freed up a sworn officer billet to handle more policing.

In my previous job, I rarely worked with law enforcement personnel. That office was an independent EM agency that worked much more closely with our local fire/EMS/HAZMAT department. Prior to entering EM, I was a private-sector cubicle farmer. Thus, I'm very much an outsider not just to my new agency but to LE culture. I'm looking for any advice on how I can ease the assimilation process and not be That Guy with both the administration and the road officers.

ETA: And yeah, I typo'd the title. Shouldn't be trusted with a keyboard before the caffeine takes hold... :/
    Last edited by Notorious E.O.C.; 05-07-2017 at 06:54 AM.

Hard to give you specifics without knowing specifics.

When it comes to military and police I think of it as what you don't do that might work. I've see people try too hard to be on the inside of a unit. Ultimately if you want inside a Hazmat unit or a SWAT team then you will need to go become a firefighter or a police officer.