Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hunting holster for Glock 20?

Hunting holster for Glock 20?

Hi folks. I just recently joined the forum in the hope of getting a little advice from those with more experience of firearms than myself. With no background in or experience of guns, so my current task of finding a suitable holster (as a birthday present for my uncle) is proving a little difficult. He is an avid hunter and, as well as his various rifles, he owns a Glock 20 which he also takes out with him on his hunts. Anyways, I have been told that he is in the market for a new holster for his Glock and I thought that this would make a great present for his upcoming (landmark) birthday. Anyway, I have been looking around online at various websites and found a few options, but as I say, I am no expert. I suspect that he would appreciate something along the lines of the Blackhawk Serpa holsters, but I am not sure how suited these would be to the hunting environment. Would a nylon option be a better idea? Or is there a different brand of holster altogether that I should be considering? As I say, I have no experience of this kind of thing so any advice that anybody can offer would be truly appreciated. Many thanks in advance folks.

Do you know how he carries his G20 now? Thigh holsters can feel very bulky. I'm personally not a fan of the Serpa design, though many like it.

If this is a "big deal" gift, I'd consider a couple options:

1: Utility - Find out how he wants to carry his G20 (which may not be how he carries it now, and may require you to simply ask him what he wants...) and get him that.
    2: Thought that counts: Get him something in really nice leather that he'll be proud to own. He may love this or be ambivalent.

There are tons of options and tons of opinions, but if this is a gift, and something you want your uncle to really enjoy... then you need to ask him.