Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for the experts: Expanded Diameter?

Question for the experts: Expanded Diameter?

Guys,

Just thinking this through. If a round at its maximal penetration depth for arguments sake of 16" is .68" that represents it's terminal state. It's dynamic expansion is actually somewhat larger true? For example as the round expands the petals flare outward as they are "peeled" back to their final resting diameter, thus the wounding tract is actually larger than the percieved ".68" diameter would leave one to believe? Your thoughts are appreciated.

P.S. I have been drinking wine

Dave

I'm no expert but the point you make is true in some cases but not all. If a projectile expands fully it may continue and peel back further and end up with a smaller diameter that it was at maximum. However it also may expand some but not enough to allow the petals to fold back at all. Also consider that if you have a round that expands and folds back like in your example you have to consider how long it took to expand fully and then the petals fold back to reach it's final diameter and final penetration depth. Say it started as a 40 cal and expands to .69 but continues to peel back the pedals until it is .65. How long did it take to reach .69 from 40? How far did it penetrate at .69 until it reached .65 and stopped? It may be a rapid expansion design that quickly went from 40 to .69 and then continued to .65 and continued for awhile before stopping. It may be a slower expansion design that takes a couple more inches to reach .69 from 40 and then quickly goes to .65 and stops right away after.

If you look at the gel tests some cavities are ball shaped near the entry point with a long narrow track about end bullet diameter. Others are more football shaped a few inches in and have a short tail or track that is end bullet diameter. If that makes sense