Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What I don't know about glass but should...

What I don't know about glass but should...

The London attack has gotten me to thinking about shooting through glass. I'm a fairly new student and have never seriously considered what's involved in shooting through glass in a self defense situation. Now I'm starting to reconsider. It's becoming apparent that using a vehicle to attack people is not a 'one off' event. For those of you who have had the training, what don't I know and what should I know?

Also trying to think through how would a regular Joe on the street be able to distinguish between an attack like in London vs. someone having a medical event and losing control of a vehicle. An attack against LEO by someone trying to flee seems to be a lot more evident and a lethal response justified. Would non-LEO ever be justified in shooting into a vehicle?

Living across the Golden Bridge , and through the Rainbow Tunnel, somewhere north of Fantasyland.
    There's two questions here: one about shooting through (I assume) laminated windshield glass, and one about recognizing a vehicular assault versus incapacitated driver. As to the first, there are several private sector trainers who cover this type of thing in their courses, some of which are available to non-LE or .Mil students. Auto Glass is tough on bullets, and the angle of a windshield increases the problem....In general, shooting into a car, the round will be deflected downward from it's normal trajectory somewhat.