Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: So I took all of the BS attachments off of my rail...

So I took all of the BS attachments off of my rail...

I could fill the bed of my pickup with all of the useless crap I've attached to my rails since I started shooting ARs fifteen years ago. I've probably bought and mounted close to every VFG, AFG, and Handstop that is in existence searching for my sweet spot. Granted, this is all personal preference and dependent on the length of your rail, need for other accessories, etc... That said, I took all of it off my rifles this past weekend and I am astounded with how much better I was shooting. Especially true with unnatural positions. Hate to say it, but this is pretty much proving to me that I got suckered by gun industry marketing and striving to make my rifles look "tough."

Has anyone else fallen into that trap? I.E. Come full circle with all of the cool guy stuff and wound up right back to a slick rail? I left a B5 Gripstop on my V11 that has a x300u at 12 o' clock, which is the only place I could feel a benefit. Even then, it was only a benefit if I was activating the light. What say you?

A little. Less was hype and more of it was just trying stuff. I find that a small stubby VFG or finger stop is all I need. All the other stuff is annoying.
    Think for yourself. Question authority.

Pedant alert:
    Quote Originally Posted by Failure2Stop
    Public Service Announcement:

Handguard:

Handguard:

Handguard:

Handguard:

Rail:

Rail:

Quad-Rail Handguard:

MLOK Handguard:

Railed MLOK Handguard:

Point: the thing you hold is a handguard.
    The raised mount is the rail.
    If you stick rails on a handguard, it's a railed handguard.
    An "MLOK Rail" is a piece of rail that you stick to an MLOK handguard, not a handguard with MLOK cut into it.