Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which Dillon for a complete noob?

Question Which Dillon for a complete noob?

I resumed more regular practice some months ago. I had a few cases of ammo in storage before my "sabbatical" but these won't last me beyond a few more months. The SO has also found time to shoot so our joint consumption is close to 600 rounds a week.

I could just reorder factory or reman ammo, but I'm thinking reloading might be a better way to maintain availability and control cost. 9mm is all we use these days

Which Dillon presses should I consider? They have several choices and I don't quite know which would match my needs?

Also, does a high humidity environment affect the quality of reloads? I live close to the beach and the air here is both humid and salty. Any suggestions how to minimize humidity in a reloading room?

#Dillon650

#Dillon550

#Dillon1050
    Last edited by LittleLebowski; 04-12-2017 at 12:55 PM.

650 with a case feeder, get the bullet feeder too if you can swing it.
    i used to wannabe

Take your expected volume, then double it. When ammo is cheaper you just shot more!

550 at the least, 650 better and more upgradable. I started with a 550 and upgraded straight to a 1050. At this point I would say to stretch as far as you can on the press.

Humidity and especially salt will affect the rustiness of your press and dies!!! Rusty reloading equipment is sadness. I suggest a dehumidifier with a drain and frequent use of lubricants designed for corroion resistance. Hornady Oneshot cleaner/lube on all dies at the very least. Eezox is a little smelly but excellent protectant.
    Are you now, or have you ever been a member of the Doodie Project?

It also largely depends on your tolerance for reloading.
    Semper Gumby, Always Flexible

My tolerance for reloading never improved over time, if anything, it was the exact opposite.
    Are you now, or have you ever been a member of the Doodie Project?