Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Drop ceiling or drywall for inexperienced guy wanting to put a ceiling in basement?

Drop ceiling or drywall for inexperienced guy wanting to put a ceiling in basement?

Title says it all. I have a little bit of self taught experience with drywall, but am not sure how to deal with the pipes and beams below the rafters as seen in the pictures. I have never messed around with drop ceilings, but I'm not too stupid and am fairly handy. The goal is a functional, not hideous ceiling; my wife and I are not perfectionists. Also fine to do this in small chunks.

#RESIST

Also, we would like to remove this wall if possible. I do not believe that it is a load bearing wall, correct? It is not very far away from the previously posted vertical support in the post above this one.

#RESIST

*redacted*
    Last edited by blues; 02-18-2017 at 12:24 PM.

Site Supporter
    LL,

I am in the same boat as you and I have listened to the pro's and con's of both.

Drywall:

Pro's

1. Cost
    2. Matches the ceiling in the rest of the house
    3. Easier than drop ceiling

Con's

1. Have to cut drywall to access pipes, ductwork, etc

Drop ceiling:

Pro's:

1. Easy access to pipes, ductwork, etc
    2. Easy to replace ceiling tiles

Con's

1. Harder to install
    2. Cost
    3. Does not match rest of house

I am leaning toward a drop ceiling but may go drywall with access points. I have not decided.

With either one you will have to decide to frame in your ductwork or lower your ceiling. Good luck!

I would go drop ceiling for no other reason than access they can be a bit of a pain to get all leveled out but once that's done it comes together quick. If you go the drop ceiling route I highly recommend a line laser for setting the night. It's hard to say for sure without seeing how the house is laid out but the fact that it is running parallel with the joists and the support beam is there I would think it's ok to take out.