Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sunglass Ideas / Suggestions Please

Sunglass Ideas / Suggestions Please

I need some inputs on the subject of sunglasses. I've been using the "Chamber" from Smith Optics for several years now (on my 2nd pair) and love the design and shape. The issue I have is they seem to be uncoated on the inside of the lenses and no matter how careful I am when cleaning them, they develop scratches. My eyes pick up on every scratch, speck of dust, etc. on sunglasses and it bugs me. Lol!

A couple months ago I picked up some Oakleys off their SI website. The main issue is the lenses aren't dark enough, even with the reflective coating. I also have eyes that are sensitive to light and I felt like I had to squint when wearing them. In addition, they felt like they were digging into my head and I couldn't wear them for very long. The Smiths by comparison are very comfortable on my oversize melon (7 3/4" BDU cap as a point of reference).

I have tried previously: Maui Jims, Costa Del Mar, various Oakleys, Ray Bans... of those the Ray Bans probably fit me the best. But none have come close to the comfort and style (for my face) of the Smiths. I have tried on Rudy Projects (forget which ones) and they didn't fit me well. They were also pretty flashy if I remember correctly. If Smith would get their lenses right, I would just keep buying them. And with their pricing on Promotive, I may still suck it up and get them again. I just wanted to see if there are other options I'm missing.

What I'm looking for:
    - Some serious tint. I live in a part of the world where it's pretty fucking bright most of the year. Lots of sun, very few clouds, and the sun seems to bounce off everything.
    - They need to be Z87.1 rated for impact so I can wear them shooting.
    - Wide fit.
    - UV protection.