Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New here, looking for advice on choosing a carry gun/HD gun combo

New here, looking for advice on choosing a carry gun/HD gun combo

Hello everyone, just joined the forum. Have browsed on here quite a bit before.

I'm relatively new to pistols, have only been shooting for about a year and a half. I've been carrying for most of that time.
    From everything that I've read/heard, it's best to stick to one manual of arms or "platform" for your primary carry and HD firearm combo.

Here's what I've tried:

DAO Striker-Fired: Glock 17/Shield 9mm: Sold both, I shot the Glock OK but never really felt like it fit me well. I shot the Shield better but then wanted to explore revolvers.
    Revolvers: 686+ 4"/642: The 686+ is still my primary HD but I stopped carrying the j-frame as it was uncomfortable IWB and I couldn't pocket carry it.

I shoot both really well, and will keep them for my wife who also is very accurate with them and likes them. I want to move back to semi-autos for myself for more capacity.

I've since been pocket-carrying an LCP, which is about my limit for pocket carry. I tried a Kahr CM9 but that was too big.
    I have been looking into AIWB as a way to carry a larger caliber with more capacity than the LCP.

I'm pretty set on 9mm, and would like to pick a new carry/HD combo with the same manual of arms to train with.
    I have spent several days at the range trying out different full-size 9mm: Glock 17, M&P 9, Sig P226, FN, Ruger, and a Beretta 92FS.

Out of all of them, I liked/shot the 92FS the best closely followed by the SIG.
    Lots of research into DA/SA has had me leaning towards a 92FS/PX4 Storm or comparable SIG combo. I'm used to the long and heavy DA trigger pull from shooting revolvers.

I know that the basic answer is "whichever you are most consistently accurate and comfortable with," but am wondering what everyone's opinions are on which gun to choose first - carry or HD?