Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which is harder, new IDPA Classifier or Classic?

Which is harder, new IDPA Classifier or Classic?

So I've never shot an IDPA match but I shoot the IDPA Classifier all the time. Or at least the old one. I shoot it at least a dozen times a year. I've found it a fun way to track my progress over the last couple years. I always* shoot it in my own "USPSA Version" since competitively I'm primarily a USPSA shooter, I shoot it from USPSA Production Gear and using USPSA targets. For what that is worth. I usually end up in the mid 70's with a PR just under 70.

With the "New" IDPA Classifier out I decided to give it a try and I video'd myself doing it. I shot this cold and used a holster and mag pouch I've never used before to be IDPA compliant.

I'm curious to know which one people think is harder. New or Classic?

Last edited by nwhpfan; 12-04-2016 at 03:07 PM.
    A71593

got me beat. i shot it a few weeks ago, i'm still a SS.

Quote Originally Posted by DAB View Post
    got me beat. i shot it a few weeks ago, i'm still a SS.
    Which do you think is harder though?
    A71593

old one. more shots at 20 yards (18 old, 6 new), more draws (which punishes those with slow draws). new one strikes me as more like a typical match, with either 6 or 12 shot strings (average of 9 shots per string). you still can't miss the head shots, and with the 1 second per point, it really punishes misses more. best i've shot for record was 130, which is 1.44 seconds/shot. that same ratio applied to the new one would put me at 104, just a few seconds from EX, but with more penalties for misses, i'm still mid-pack SS. best practice so far is 116. if i can get rid of mistakes, i think i can move up to EX this year. i should be able to shoot stages 1 and 2 clean, and try to limit stage 3 to 10 down or less. aim dammit! stay tuned.