Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First concealed carry holster

First concealed carry holster

It’s time to get my concealed carry permit and I need a holster!

Don't thrash me to within an inch of my life for posting this! There are plenty of threads and posts saying buy this or this works great for me but as a noob I have not found a detailed insight as to the why's and wherefores of the features that go to make up a holster.

I know that body shape will play a huge role in what finally works and I will need to wear it to know. The question is where to start to best avoid a box of used once holsters?

I wish to carry a G17k G4 IWB. No light. 1 or 2 magazines.

I have been shooting at the range and dry firing a Ready Tactical OWB holster since March 2016. My draw is, I feel safe but not fast.

I'm right handed, 200lbs and 5'11". I am hoping to lose 20lbs. I have a couple of Wilderness Tactical Frequent Flyer belts. I live on the front range of Colorado. Summer I'm in jeans or shorts and a t-shirt, winter I'm in layers of typical outdoorsy goretex vortex clothing. I have an aversion to fishing vests.

I'm looking for someone to tell me what my understanding is missing or what I just got wrong. Yes, this is the internet but I'm not looking to validate something I already bought!

Cant is all about where you wear. 3 o'clock best with zero cant, the further back you go, the more you should increase cant.

Sweat guard height, higher could pinch but stops sweat corroding the gun. Protects from warm gun (really?)

Height of loops/grip over waist band. Lower loops raises the holster and gives better first time grip but can impede concealment.

Loops or paddles. Loops are more reliable(?) paddles allow quick and easy fitting and removal. In between these two are things like the Eidolon tuckable overhooks, which seem to make sense to me as long as you can yank on the pistol and it comes out of the holster and the holster stays on your belt.