Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New member, novice shooter, and how to get better

New member, novice shooter, and how to get better

Good morning to ALL -

I'm a new member to this forum. I'm based out of Southern California, about 30-miles east of LA.

I am also a novice shooter, having started with firearms only in May of this year (2016). My first gun is a Glock 22, and since then have acquired a 1911 MCO and a Beretta PX4 Storm (I was told that guns have a tendency to multiply).

I was referred to this forum when I was told that I had "maxed out" the amount of usable advice from another forum in terms of getting better.

That said, my history would be:

• Started into firearms in May 2016
    • Had attended a few classes - 2 basic 101 classes, and a 2-day at Front Sight
    • Have been reading/studying on marksmanship materials (books and DVDs)
    • Dry practices (mostly trigger control and sight picture/alignment for now) about 2 or 3 times per week. Sometimes having occasional 2-week breaks
    • Participated in a couple of IDPA-type clinics

Hence, my current dilemma is, ONE - how to be able to do tight groups for the 10+ yard targets? Particularly those in 20-yd and 25-yd ranges? I've read about people doing 2- to 4-inch groups at 25-yards; but then, how could they? I can barely see the bullseye (and am already using a small dot Taran Butler competition sight on my Glock), along with the associated wobble (due to muscles and/or breathing). Please see my current groups (taken about last last weekend) below...