Thread: Review - MDTS Training - Practical Shotgun 1 11/5/16

Review - MDTS Training - Practical Shotgun 1 11/5/16

Unfortunately I didn't have time to scribble notes during the class so I'm going off of memory. I also don't have a lot of time to write an in depth review but there were several other forum members present who I'm sure will contribute to this thread.

Practical Shotgun 1 was my 3rd class with Chris Fry of MDTS Training. I am a shotgun novice and my knowledge prior to this class was slightly more than your average Joe. I ran a bare bones Beretta 1301T and had zero malfunctions through roughly 250 rounds.

We started off with an emergency plan, safety rules, weapon familiarization, shotgun accessories, ammunition choices, and an overview of some self-defense laws. From there Chris detailed the 4 points of contact, proper shooting stance, and went into the four reloading techniques that he teaches (2 for each paw). He also covered recoil mitigation, the push-pull technique, and proper body placement of the weapon.

We ran numerous drills with 2 squads of 8 people. Chris being primary instructor and Jimmy being his AI. Both gave individual attention, corrections, and encouragement to everyone on an individual basis.

The malfunction drill/team race was fun for everyone. It was also a great introduction to weapon familiarization for everyone forcing them to unfuck different shotguns of various makes and models. It was a big lightbulb moment for everyone and I'm sure most will seek out various models of shotguns, rifles, and pistols to become better acquainted with should the need ever arise to have to operate one.

The last leg was shotgun patterning with the various 00 buck and slugs that everyone brought at varying distances. Needless to say the Federal Flite Control was the best performer.