Thread: AAR CSAT Tac Rifle Operator Nacadoches, Texas October 22/23 2016

AAR CSAT Tac Rifle Operator Nacadoches, Texas October 22/23 2016

AAR CSAT Tac Rifle Operator.

22/23 October 2016

Nacadoches, Texas

Over the weekend I attended Tac Rifle Operator at CSAT in Nacadoches, Texas. Paul Howe was the primary instructor. Assistant Instructors were Joe, Franke and Dave.

A little about me. I am a former LEO from Ohio (12yrs) that now resides in Texas. I am a Paramedic and worked for the local 911 service before getting a job in an ER/trauma center. I have several classes under my belt from various instructors but never formally received the basics of rifle marksmanship.

About my gear. Being the Special Snowflake that I am, I ran an AK in 7.62x39 for the class. The rifle was an Arsenal SAM7SF, lightly modified, with an ACOG TA33G-13 on top. I ran 30 round Magpul mags in both all-poly and steel lined flavors. I carried my mags and med kit in a HSGI chest rig.

TD1 started off as a chilly morning but warmed up to a perfectly pleasant fall day without a cloud in the sky. The range was well kept and laid out. A safety brief was given and chamber flags handed out. Paul went over his preferred loading/unloading sequence before covering the fundamentals of marksmanship. Paul stressed a consistency in hand position, cheek weld, head position and obtaining a natural point of aim. We quickly checked optic and irons at 7 yards to make sure we'd be on paper at 100. Satisfied, we moved to 100 yards to check our zero while prone. This was repeated until we were all zeroed well enough to get our hits out to 300 yards. Paul and his AI's stalked the line adding input to students about their mechanics. Kneeling was covered and practiced under watchful eyes with input provided to clean up student technique. Somewhere during the day we broke for lunch. The day was finished with one last 5 shot group at 100 yards.

My zero check from night before class. Low due to POA.