Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Handgun purchasing and backup copies

Handgun purchasing and backup copies

I'm kind of a lurker but GJM suggested I participate more.

I am curious if anyone has factual information or something similar to explain what happens to a legal CPL holder's handgun buying abilities after they are engaged in a justified self defense incident. I have one G26 and have occasionally heard that backup copies are a good idea and that your abilities to purchase after a self defense incident can be impaired. Hoping you can help me learn about this topic.

Thanks!

I'm no expert, but my basic understanding is that purchase impairment will depend heavily on the circumstances of the self defense incident in question. If charges are filed against you, you're likely to be unable to buy. If it's immediately found to be a "good" shoot, you likely wouldn't have any problems. There's a lot of gray area in between there. In the end, there are a lot of good arguments for owning a backup copy (or at least something similar, like a G19) that have nothing to do with guns going to the evidence room anyway; that's just one more incentive.

Delta Busta Kappa fratboy Hot Sauce's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nucci View Post

I am curious if anyone has factual information or something similar to explain what happens to a legal CPL holder's handgun buying abilities after they are engaged in a justified self defense incident. I have one G26 and have occasionally heard that backup copies are a good idea and that your abilities to purchase after a self defense incident can be impaired. Hoping you can help me learn about this topic.

Thanks!
    Many around here advocate a carry gun and an identical training gun. That carry gun, after being confirmed as reliable, is seldom fired in comparison to the high round count training gun.