Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BJJ, Competition, and Stress

BJJ, Competition, and Stress

So I just got my butt handed to me at my first BJJ competition as a white belt, and I want to talk about what happened and why I think everyone needs to compete anyway. For anyone who competes in martial arts this isn't going to be anything new, but *I'd* never heard of it. so...

I've been training daily for the last 8 months. I was feeling pretty good about my chances of at least placing -- I'm in decent shape, I'm a big dude, and I do well enough rolling with the other white belts at our gym. I've been through the stress inoculation everyone talks about getting from hard BJJ training -- I don't panic when a 300 pound dude is on top of me any more, and I don't tend to gas out from wasting my energy. I've played sports recreationally (although never too seriously) all my life, done a few shooting competitions, taken race cars around corners fast enough I was shaking afterward, and while I've had some stress-induced failures I thought I was pretty comfortable with the concept. I was a little worried about getting myself too hyped up and burning myself out through trying to muscle the guy around more than I should, but I had a plan to try to *not* do that, so I felt ok.

And then I walked onto the mat at competition, feeling only a little bit bouncy and nervous-- and my body felt like it imploded before I even contacted the other guy. Like nothing I've ever experienced. My muscles had no strength, and mentally I just wanted to go curl up into a ball and wait for it for be over. Every action felt like I had to beat myself before I could even try to beat him. I expected something like that 4 minutes into the match, when your hype and cardio catch up to you... not now. Now right away.

And the other dude hadn't even tried to choke me yet.