Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Should meat hunters stop using lead ammunition?

Should meat hunters stop using lead ammunition?

I am new to hunting (killed my first deer last year), and simply chose my ammo based on what works well on people. It worked well on my deer (RA556B), too. However, then I got into looking at lead contamination, as I know a bunch of environmentalists are trying to push lead out of hunting. Normally I am not a huge fan of listening to those types, but lead IS a cumulative toxin, and I was curious, so I did a bit of digging and looked for sources that weren't all concerned with Condor's and Gun Control, only. What I found was kindof concerning, actually. Here are the videos.

What is your take on this? Do you feel that TSX/GMX/E-Tip type ammo is THE way to go? Or do you feel that lead is just fine? Why?

Video 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZJXderphCM

Video 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4Wbj41j67A

Video 3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sdKlubTRkk8

I'm at a loss as to how this is a major risk in large game. Let's say I shoot a lead core bullet from a .308 and it exits the deer. If we could recover what started out as a 150gr bullet the recovered weight will be slightly lighter (2-30% depending on bullet) so it left some lead or jacket material in the wound track. The majority of the meat never came in contact with the bullet, and if I don't try to save every scrap near the wound channel I think the risk is incredibly low.

Here's an article I found quickly that has retained bullet weights. http://www.rifleshootermag.com/ammo/...-loads-market/
    "Gunfighting is a thinking man's game. So we might want to bring thinking back into it."-MDFA

Beware of my temper, and the dog that I've found...

Site Supporter
    The lead issue is complete bullshit. It's gun control in a costume.
    Regional Government Sales Manager for Aimpoint, Inc. USA
    Co-owner Hardwired Tactical Shooting (HiTS)