Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New CCW - draw fire times

New CCW - draw fire times

So I recently obtained my CCW and have been practicing my presentation. Today my brother and I did our biweekly range outing and both of us took the first portion of the day to focus on getting hits on target from concealment. My times I felt were pretty damn slow with an avg time for my first shot being 2.06 and the lowest of 1.86. Split times averaged .50. I was very happy with shot placement but not sure that I am happy with it taking me 2 seconds to draw and get a shot on target.

Just wondering what is a perceived acceptable time to get a hit on target, in regarded to a self defense situation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome to the forum.

I'm new to CCW also. I'd like to say an Azone hit from concealment is good to aim for, but not sure what is *good*. Interested in the responses.

Oh, what distance were you shooting?

Edit to add: At TacCon 2016, Tom Givens said you need the gun out "Right Fucking Now". I'm not sure what that translates to, but subjectively, I get it.
    Last edited by RJ; 07-08-2016 at 07:59 PM.

Depends on the target and distance. For me, let's call it 8" IDPA COM at 7 yds. From IWB strongside under a polo shirt I can get hits in the 1.3-1.4 range.
    Food Court Apprentice
    Semper Paratus certified AR15 armorer

It's never enough, we ideally train to our physical limit then try to break that if we ever reach it

What carry style, clothing/concealment, type of holster, target, range?
    Semper Gumby, Always Flexible

For me to hit a 4x6 card at 10 yards, I'm right around 2.2 sec with my P229 & 2.0 with my P226 from concealment.

I want faster too, especially when I just sit a listen to how slow 2.2 seconds is on a shot timer.

I don't have anything better to say other than, you're not alone in that range.

1.5 to 2 seconds from real life concealment until first accurate shot on target at 10 yards.