Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Favorite Speed Loader

Question Favorite Speed Loader

I've got a S&W 686 (six shot) and a Taurus Mod 66 (seven shot) revolver.
    Been thinking about getting a Speed Loader for one or both and just wondering
    if there's a much preferred brand?

Safariland comp iii if concealment isn't a huge issue (for the 686)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "I'm a tactical operator and Instructor and also retired military."

-read on another forum

The Safariland Comp II and Comp I also, as available. The Safarilands aren't as sensitive to ammo type as the HKS. A little more complicated, but work well generally.

They should all be considered consumables. You mention "speed loader" in the singular. Get several, when you decide you like them, or which one you like best, get a bunch more, theyll keep forever at room temperature.

My vote is Safariland hands down. I use the Comp III's for competition and Comp II's for carry. I especially like the flutes on top of the comp II's that allow me to index the speedloader so I can easily do a reload without looking down to charge the cylinder (fore finger of the right hand on the speedloader flute and the thumb of the left hand is in the flute of the cylinder. Tip of the forefinger drives to meet the tip of the thumb. Very similar concept to holding your magazine with the tip of the forefinger on the nose of the bullet which allows you to find the magazine well without looking.).

That said I issue the HKS speedload to the rank and file who could care less about training. They hold up better and are easier to use.
    Scott
    Only Hits Count - The Faster the Hit the more it Counts!!!!!!; DELIVER THE SHOT!
    Stephen Hillier - "An amateur practices until he can do it right, a professional practices until he can't do it wrong."

Preferred? SL Variants. Fast man. $$$$$
    Quote Originally Posted by caleb View Post