Page 1 of 45 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: This is just the beginning!

This is just the beginning!

I want to start this training journal for many reasons.
    -Accountability, transparency and inspiration to name a few.

It's easy to pretend like you are something you are not on the Internet. I want to put myself out there. I'm just an amateur. My journey with firearms has been unique. I first shot a handgun about 3 years ago. A few months later I purchased my first handgun. I wasn't really serious about training. Heck I wasn't serious about practicing. I had shoulder surgery a few months later, which sidelined me from shooting. During that time I watched a lot of videos and discovered Internet gun forums. I started dry firing a little and was starting to really get into guns. Then I had major back surgery, which has been a huge hurdle. I only got released to start shooting about six months ago. I've been getting more and more serious as the months have passed. I've really only been actually shooting for about a year and a half. I had to take a lot of time off for surgeries.

I still deal with daily back pain so I can't shoot and train near as much as I like. One day I hope that will change.

My journal will include my workouts and rehab as well as my shooting journey.

I ask all of you to help me and offer advice.

I hope this will keep me accountable. I've committed myself to consistently doing dry fire.

I'm not going to pretend to be something I'm not. I'm not a grandmaster. Heck I'm probably D class. But I hope to look back in a few years and will realize this journal was a turning point in my training.

Feel free to give advice and criticism. I'm going to start pouring through other journals to get good ideas for dry fire and live fire drills.

Glad to see you made a journal man! Look forward to reading it!!
    i used to wannabe

I did some dry fire tonight. Third night in a row! For me that's a lot.