Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Wilson Combat CQB

Wilson Combat CQB

Been a quite follower of Todd for quite some time. That said, I'm also a 1911 junkie, and furthermore a Wilson and Colt disciple.

Since hearing about the Triple Nickel, I've been training/practicing to get there consistently with this gun: An early 2000's CQB purchased new.

And, yep, tightly fitted 1911s can run dirty too:

I have to say, from a content perspective, this forum and Todd's site are amazing.

Thanks Todd,

Bill

CQB is a great gun. Never owned one, but handled many.

Re TripNick: every test that requires a reload kicks my butt if I run it with a 1911. Until I started shooting double stacks, I never realized how less forgiving the 1911s are in that regard.

Never again will I run a "serious" 1911 that doesn't have a mag funnel on it.

I have "serious" 1911s with and without. The S&A is easily my favorite.

With or without, my hangup is usually a front of the well "hit." Unless I did one of those huge IPSC funnels, I doubt I'd really pick up much time.

I know a couple of very serious 1911 shooters who no longer choose to use mag "funnels" on 1911's after being in situations where mag wells were bumped and bent, preventing magazine changes. These guys don't just shoot on a one way range...

Agreed-on my Nighthawk Custom Talon II build, I specified "No magazine funnels." What Nighthawk did was to bevel all interior sides (including the inner frontstrap)-and then credited me for the magwell deletion, which I thought was a nice gesture.

Best, Jon

For me, "serious" = "competition". I can honestly say that after all the shooting I did last year with 1911s, I won't carry one.

In free-range, non-GMO, organic, fair trade Broad Ripple, IN
    Quote Originally Posted by DocGKR View Post