Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: HK USPc 40 to 9mm conversion- what's req'd?

Site Supporter

HK USPc 40 to 9mm conversion- what's req'd?

I'm interested in learning what's involved to convert a USPc 40 to 9mm.
    I have lots of experience with Beretta 92/96, where a barrel swap is the minimum, and a complete top-end swap is ideal.
    If I drop a 40 compact barrel
    https://www.hkparts.net/shop/pc/USPC...-US-p16704.htm
    and a recoil spring assembly
    https://www.hkparts.net/shop/pc/HK-U...lete-p1158.htm

into an existing -USPc 40 slide, will this work fine?

My only other question mark is the extractor, and it looks like the USP uses the same part for 9 and 40, am I right?

My desired end-state is to, at a minimum, have a reliable "sub caliber" range practice gun for my duty USPc 40.
    At best, it would be a completely reliable off-duty carry gun with a little more capacity, and less recoil.
    I would be using dedicated 9mm magazines, do course.

If this would work like I imagine, I'd have a fully functional USPc in 9mm for about half the price (including at least 3 mags) of an additional complete firearm.

Any experience, expertise, and advice is welcome.

Gyro

I suspect a 9mm "upper" would work; maybe. But I'm not going to risk either my 9mm or .40 USPc pistols by trying it out.

I CAN tell you that using the .40 magazines to hold 9mm ammunition works like a champ.

But dropping a 9mm barrel and recoil spring into a .40 slide… dunno, man, why risk a superlative pistol? If you're into that sort of corner-cutting, get a Glock; I understand they do rather well with this sort of thing.

Me; I simply purchased another pistol. YMMV…

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by GyroF-16 View Post
    I'm interested in learning what's involved to convert a USPc 40 to 9mm.
    I have lots of experience with Beretta 92/96, where a barrel swap is the minimum, and a complete top-end swap is ideal.
    If I drop a 40 compact barrel