Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How do I start shooting faster?

How do I start shooting faster?

Some of you might have seen this, since I posted on a different place on the Internet.

I've competed in my first ever USPSA shoot last Sunday at one club (Richmond Hotshots in Richmond, CA (SF Bay Area)), and I did another USPSA match at Chabot (Castro Valley, CA).
    I am new to the game, but I am not exactly new to shooting. Unlike the first match, today I didn't have any small errors etc.

I am having solid hits, but I am too slow when shooting the metric targets. I know that in the match I did today, I got most if not all of the points on a stage, but my times made me really uncompetitive.

I am sure some of it is probably due to the fact that I've only shot 2 entire matches thus far. I feel confident with my pistol basics, except for the speed factor....so:

Any tips on how to approach this correctly in order to shoot faster?

*I am shooting production with a stock M-9.

Thank you.

The advice part is easy -- learn to shoot A's faster. The doing it part, is what is difficult. Dry fire a lot, live fire a lot, get instruction, go to matches.

As a Production shooter, I don't think sacrificing accuracy is a good strategy, except perhaps in practice when building speed. Penalties and C/D hits are ruinous in Production.
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

Quote Originally Posted by rojocorsa View Post
    *I am shooting production with a stock M-9.
    Thank you.

I'm only chiming in because you're the only other retard with a Beretta.

My advice? Buy this book, read it, start doing that stuff:

Got video?
    What is slow?
    What do you consider fast?
    Last edited by Sal Picante; 03-01-2016 at 11:20 AM.

I placed 23/32 in the last match I did.

Here are my results, (I am still learning how to decipher all of these)

Name:  Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 1.44.32 PM.jpg
Views: 997
Size:  34.1 KB