• Lee Loadmaster, speed on a budget

4 5.71%
  • Dillon 550, the safe choice, just save up for it

47 67.14%
  • Mods here are shit

5 7.14%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Dillon 550 vs Hornady Lock'nLoad AP vs Lee Loadmaster vs Lee Classic Turret,GOT 550

Dillon 550 vs Hornady Lock'nLoad AP vs Lee Loadmaster vs Lee Classic Turret,GOT 550

Gents, I'm just starting out in reloading but I'm pretty handy with "figuring stuff out and tinkering" plus I have the resources of this board. The calibers I plan to reload for are 9mm, .300Blk, 5.56, and .308.

My budget really isn't at the Dillon 650 level. I can buy the LCT (Lee Classic Turret) complete kit for around $200 and it will serve me well, be easy to learn, albeit slow. I can buy the Lee Loadmaster for $255 and it will be much faster than the LCT but will need a bit of tinkering and upgrades (there is a forum dedicated to this) to get it running. The Hornady AP is at $424 but it looks like I will need to spend a bit more money on upgrades and parts. However, the Hornady AP is allegedly just as fast as a Dillon 650 once set up and running. The Dillon 550 is at the very upper edge of my budget but it is a "safe" choice.

Do I take a chance on the Hornady AP or Lee Loadmaster and just spend the time to get them up and running? Shall I just stay low with my ambitions for now and buy the LCT, see how it goes? Shall I just piecemeal the Dillon 550?

Please bear in mind that I have that gunshot elbow on my strong arm. The less turret pulls per round, the better. However, it's not huge priority, rather just something worth considering.

#Dillon550
    Last edited by LittleLebowski; 04-12-2017 at 01:52 PM.
    #RESIST