Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tikka bolt action rifles

Tikka bolt action rifles

Who has them and what do you think of them in terms of accuracy, reliability and durability?

Both the CTR and some of the stainless/synthetic models look interesting, but I have zero experience with them.
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

I bought a CTR in 308 shortly after they came out. The rifle was very nice but you could tell the stock is where they cut price (think Tupperware) to make it cheaper than the sako. It was 100% free floated and as long as I didn't load the bipod too much it remained free floated. Magazines were nice as well. Oversized bolt knob was nice but the end ball was plastic. I put a XTRii 5x25 on it and a atlas bipod, shot it 13 times at 100 yards and realized I had nowhere to shoot long range. Sold it and regret it almost daily. I'd buy another in a heart beat but would swap to a KRG chassis asap.

The trigger was AMAZING! I think the adjustment range went from 2-4.5 pounds? Easy to adjust as well.

Last edited by Luke; 12-29-2015 at 08:10 AM.

Considering a CTR myself. Magazines are horrendously expensive though.

Quote Originally Posted by GJM View Post
    Who has them and what do you think of them in terms of accuracy, reliability and durability?

Both the CTR and some of the stainless/synthetic models look interesting, but I have zero experience with them.
    My father had a .308 and .223 Sporter. 1/4 MOA was what the Sporter supposedly shot, and I have seen a 1/3 MOA group from that .308 at 300 yards. Just 3 shot groups mind you, but they are stoopid accurate rifles.

I have a Tikka Sporter in 223 and it shoots really well for a factory rifle.

Messing around with different loads, it shot five, 5-shot groups that averaged .7" . A couple of the groups were under .4 inches so with the right load it shoots. This one has a 1:8 twist 24" barrel and will send a 75 A-max past 800 with ease.
    -Seconds Count. Misses Don't-