Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which mount for aimpoint (or other red dots)

Which mount for aimpoint (or other red dots)

I tried to find existing threads here plus did some searching here and at other forums and seem to be running into some uncertainty on what I should consider when looking at mounts. I'm leaning towards aimpoint so have done some research on the options, and manufacturers may be biased due to that.

Obviously holding zero is key, but in addition to that what else should be considered:
    • Is the consensus that a 1/3 co-witness is probably best with a red dot sight like the aimpoint micro?
    • Is it worth getting a QD if I am just getting into AR hopefully next year? Seems like it would add unnecessary cost.
    • What manufacturers tend to satisfy the preferred mounts at a good price point? It seems that Bobro, Larue, Daniel Defense, ScalarWorks were the ones people tended to recommend, though some of those are pricier than others and may be overkill for someone that isn't going on patrol with their AR or have multiple guns they're using in training.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by scw2 View Post
    I tried to find existing threads here plus did some searching here and at other forums and seem to be running into some uncertainty on what I should consider when looking at mounts. I'm leaning towards aimpoint so have done some research on the options, and manufacturers may be biased due to that.

Obviously holding zero is key, but in addition to that what else should be considered:
    • Is the consensus that a 1/3 co-witness is probably best with a red dot sight like the aimpoint micro?
    • Is it worth getting a QD if I am just getting into AR hopefully next year? Seems like it would add unnecessary cost.